AM Runs

28 Dec

Just taking a mid-run nap.

I started my run this morning at 6:30. It was of course dark out when I began and it stayed dark for my entire run. On early morning runs like this one I’m always amused by the number of animals I see versus the number of humans. The ratio was especially lopsided this morning because most normal folk are staying home instead of racing to work for the “laziest work week of the year”. Today I decided to actually tally up the results.

  • Deer: 4
  • Dogs: 2 (more interested in their early morning escape than in chasing me.)
  • Racoon or maybe a skunk it’s hard to tell: 1
  • Humans: 2

Note, those humans were not outside-humans, they were warm-in-their-car humans.

So this morning it was me and a forest’s worth of glowing eyes.

It’s even better in the summer on Sunday mornings. I’m always alone with a herd of early birds/mammals/reptiles too sometimes and it’s bright enough at 5am to see them all. The only time I ever see humans that early on Sunday mornings is when they’re stumbling home from the bar. The look on such people’s faces as I run cheerfully run past is absolute bewilderment.

Maybe this will convince you late starters to try a run in the early AM. Trade in speeding traffic and surly commuters for some peace and quiet. And feral animals, if you’ve got them where you are.

In the meantime, I hope everyone has time off work and is spending it eating too much with friends and family! Happy holidays!

3 Responses to “AM Runs”

  1. TestingTrueChange December 28, 2011 at 4:58 PM #

    That is impressive that you can get up so early and run. I usually just go after school but I imagine this would be a great way to start the day. I’ll have to try sometime!

  2. Tori December 28, 2011 at 6:09 PM #

    Maybe this will convince you late starters to try a run in the early AM.

    Not until May! (June if I can make it!) 😛

    For the summer months, the only times that are cool enough to run out here are roughly between the hours of 4am and 6am. (Seriously, I am sad if it’s 6:15, and I’m not at the cool down walk.)

    So I’m currently reveling in my ability to run at any time of day — at least, as far as the weather is concerned. 😀

  3. Erica December 29, 2011 at 12:42 PM #

    So dark, so icy…no wait a sec. We’re having a great winter so far. I’ll save those excuses for February when hell does freeze over.

Leave a Reply

