I’m Back!

18 Dec

Hi so I’m not dead. I am, however, terribly sorry about being a horribly irregular updater of late. My excuses range from final exams and papers to just not feeling like it. But I’m back now and hoping to be a little more regular.

All wrongs are forgiven, I presume? Christmas puppies can heal all wounds.

I did manage to stick to my training, which I’m still somewhat surprised about. There were times I was so busy I forgot to eat but I never skipped a run! As you may remember, I’ve been in pre-training for my first marathon for the last five weeks. Tomorrow however marks the first day of actual training. I’ve been maintaining mileage at about 34 km a week for the past few months and now that average will slowly start to rise.

And, I officially registered for the Vancouver Marathon 2012! BAM. Honestly, I didn’t really realize that I had committed to running this thing until I had to spend $110 to register. So now it’s real. And oh my god, you guys, have you noticed HOW LONG a marathon is? It’s 42.2 kilometers! THAT’S A FAIR DISTANCE. I hadn’t really thought about the actual distance until I a) reviewed the course (which, for locals, starts at the Queen E park, passes through Pacific Spirit park and out around UBC, cruises through Kits and the Seawall, and ends at Canada Place. So yeah) and b) thought about where I could complete my long training runs. For example, the longest pre-race run I have to do is 38 km. That didn’t phase me until I realized I’d have to run across town, and back, and then across town again just to fit that distance in.

So I guess right now, in regards to running, I’m coming to terms with the actual effort I’m going to need to put into completing this goal. But you know what? I’m not any less excited to do it.

Stay tuned for more regular posts, and Merry Christmas to everyone! And if you don’t do Christmas, please enjoy not having to work and also not having to see family! The best of both worlds!

(I’m just kidding family. I like you guys.)

One Response to “I’m Back!”

  1. jobo December 19, 2011 at 5:47 AM #

    Wow! Marathon! That is awesome!! I am looking forward to reading about your training! And glad you’re back 🙂

Leave a Reply

