Utterly Necessary Information

16 Oct

I didn’t write yesterday because of some serious emotional trauma that I endured. I came home too emotionally drained to write hilarious things for you all to enjoy.

“But oh beautiful Margaret, how can you be so sad when your hair is so pretty?” you ask.

Well, yesterday I had to let go of two people who mean very much to me. Meet Left Saucony and Right Saucony:

It hurts to look.

Notice the faded colours that once glowed so brilliant against the pavement. The cushioning, once so comforting, gone, leaving me at the mercy of the road. Shoelaces so muddied they look like muddy shoelaces.

It was time to replace the runners.

You may call them sneakers or running shoes or maybe you’re a freak who doesn’t always wear shoes (yes I’ve seen you guys out and about) but don’t deny you develop a certain attachment. Maybe you don’t go so far as naming your shoes but… they’ve been through a lot with you.

Those Sauconys were my first pair of runners. When I started running I wore a pair of athletic-looking Pumas that were not meant for athletes at all. When I decided to actually do this running thing, I bought my first pair at a running store on the North Shore. Of course I’d had shoes for gym and once a pair of cleats for field hockey, but those were the $40 ones from Payless. These babies were the real deal. Arch support, shoelaces that stayed tied; features I’d never experienced before.

We were fast friends. We would go out and run and play but mostly run. We ran through two summers of blasting heat, and two winters of pouring rain and snow. The Sauconys came with me on my first race, the Vancouver Sun Run 10k. We proceeded to run three more 10k races and two half-marathons. We survived shin splints and runner’s knee with only each other for support. If I took a few days or a week or a month off, the Sauconys would be right there waiting for me.

Soon we added a new blessing to the family. The Nike+ device for my iPod. We were too cheap to get special shoes to hold the device so we bought it a pretty purple blanket and tied it haphazardly to Right Saucony’s laces.

With Nike+, we were the perfect team. We destroyed the road, one slow stride at a time. Nike+ took care of the numbers (calories, pace, distance and all) while Left and Right and me too sometimes did the grunt work.

It was a beautiful thing. But like all good things, it came to an end. Left and Right were getting too tired. They couldn’t keep up on the long runs. In the end they were causing me knee and hip pain. It was time to let go.

So I bought these babies!!!

The hot homewrecker.

Check that neon out. Look at those swoops and glides. Hot shoes guys.

I bought them because the guy at the Running Room told me to. Well, he gave me a bunch to try on based on my style of running and I chose these as they felt the best. I just went in there prepared to depend on their expert knowledge and I think I came out with a great pair.

My advice on buying runners? Simple. Invest and make sure that you get shoes that are right for you, not just shoes that look good.

Even though mine are sweet as all hell.

Check back for more advice on buying good shoes for you. In the meantime:

Haha ridiculous.

7 Responses to “Utterly Necessary Information”

  1. cd0678Chelsea October 16, 2011 at 7:27 PM #

    You are just one of my favourite people… ever!

  2. Nel October 20, 2011 at 11:37 PM #

    Margaret,

    I totally feel you on this. Letting go of the best shoes ever is, in my opinion, worse than being dumped (NOTE: That’s a personal opinion. It might vary from the next runner.). My Asics Gel Kayano 15s were my ultimate loves (Felt like finally found “the one”.) and when they wore off, I was a wreck. The upgrade wasn’t so bad and now, I’m looking at the upgrade to that upgrade. Must love running – gives me reason to shop for shoes!

    • thetortoiseruns October 21, 2011 at 5:36 AM #

      That’s it exactly! My poor non-runner friend came with me for the upgrade… couldn’t understand why I was so upset! The new shoes are amazing though 🙂

  3. Lifeisarun October 24, 2011 at 6:01 AM #

    You wore the same pair of running shoes for two summers and two winters?!? That’s too long with one pair! Did your feet feel better with a new pair?

    • thetortoiseruns October 24, 2011 at 6:07 AM #

      Ahhh yes, I ran, but how often? A couple of those summers, and one of those winters, I ran a grand total of MAYBE five times. I was pretty sporadic back then. But yes, omg, do my feet feel better! I forgot what cushioning even felt like! I had around 1000km on my previous shoes and it was just way too many.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Basic Running Gear « thetortoiseruns - October 23, 2011

    […] had, until that point, never experienced anything remotely similar to exercise. My first shoes, as I mentioned before, were those Pumas that everyone was buying because they looked cool. Like most things that look […]

Leave a Reply

